Are You Ready For The New CPTPP Trade Agreement ?

Canada’s newest Free Trade Agreement with Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam is scheduled to be implemented Jan 1 2019. The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) will eliminate duty on most products immediately, with the remainder being staged to duty free over a number of years….

Tariff Rate Quotas under the new CPTPP Agreement

Applications for an allocation under the new CPTPP TRQs may now be submitted to Global Affairs Canada by email. The deadline for submitting an application is December 12th, 2018. Allocations will be issued on December 21, 2018. Please note that any applications submitted for a TRQ administered on a calendar year for the 2019 TRQ…