Are You Ready For The New CPTPP Trade Agreement ?

Canada’s newest Free Trade Agreement with Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam is scheduled to be implemented Jan 1 2019. The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) will eliminate duty on most products immediately, with the remainder being staged to duty free over a number of years.

Product specific rules of origin will need to be met and origin “certification” can be provided by the importer, producer or exporter and will require the following data elements: importer, exporter, producer, certifier, product description and HS tariff classification, origin criterion, blanket period (if applicable), and authorized signature and date.

The text of the agreement can be found here:

For additional information please contact your local Delmar representative.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s